Tanzania emblem
The United Republic of Tanzania

Petroleum Upstream Regulatory Authority

Petroleum Upstream Regulatory Authority


PURA’s Second Worker's Council Launched

The Second Worker’s Council of the Petroleum Upstream Regulatory Authority (PURA) was launched on 26th January 2024 in Morogoro by the Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Energy, Mr. Athumani Selemani Mbuttuka.

Other guests in attendance were the Assistant Labor Commissioner from the Prime Minister’s Office (Labour, Youth, Employment and Persons with Disabilities) Mr. Andrew Mwalwisi, the Secretary General of the Trade Union Congress of Tanzania (TUCTA) Mr. Hery Mkunda, and Secretary of TUGHE Dar es Salaam Region Mrs. Sara Rwezaula.

In his speech to welcome the guest of honor, the Chairman of the PURA Worker’s Council who is also the Authority’s Director General Eng. Charles Sangweni said that the Institution has recorded a tremendous improvement in the areas of employee involvement since it started holding Council meetings.

“Hon. Guest of Honor, it is my sheer pleasure to inform you that since PURA launched the First Council in November 2020, the level of staff participation in various issues, transparency, and performance of the Authority has improved to a great extent.” added Eng. Sangweni

Delivering a speech at the event, Mr. Mbuttuka said that one of the core functions of the Council is to ensure that the rights and responsibilities of both the employer and employee are given priority when implementing activities.

Mr. Mbuttuka also used the opportunity to remind PURA employees to continue carrying out their duties creatively, professionally and embracing the principle of servant leadership.

“We must always bear in mind that in order for the public service to be respected, it behooves us to do what is right in accordance with the laws, regulations, and procedures put in place” stated Mr. Mbuttuka

The PURA’s Second Worker’s Council consists of 35 members and will last for three years, commencing January 2024.